Loading Classes

« All Events

  • This class has passed.

DC Concealed Handgun Permit – 2 Day Course (July 30 & 31) (10am-7pm)

July 30 @ 10:00 am - July 31 @ 7:00 pm

|Recurring Class (See all)

One event on July 31, 2022 at 10:00 am

- $400.00

This course meets and exceeds the required 16-hour classroom and two-hour range qualification for the District Concealed Handgun License permit application. The course structure is two consecutive 9-hour sessions with a working lunch and range firearms training and shooting qualification course.

Topics include:

  • Firearms Safety
  • Handgun Parts and Nomenclature
  • Ammunition
  • Firearms storage and accessibility
  • Handgun Cleaning Seminar and Practical Exercise
  • Situational Awareness and Crime Prevention
  • Conflict Avoidance and De-escalation
  • Legal Aftermath and Consequences
  • District Firearms Laws
  • District Self-Defense Law
  • Concealment Options and Equipment
  • Firearms Range Practical and Qualification

We will also go over some handgun fundamentals to make sure that you are comfortable in your decision to carry concealed in the State of Virginia. There will be a 50-round practical course of fire and afterward students can receive some remedial training if needed.

Course Requirements: US Citizen with unexpired Government ID (Real ID or Valid US Passport) or Naturalized citizens with DHS, INS ID, or Permanent US Resident with Valid Government Photo ID.

  • Prerequisite: None
  • Gear Required: Pistol with magazine (rentals available), Eye and Hearing protection
  • Ammunition Required: 100rds FMJ or Frangible
  • Recommended Gear: Pen and paper
  • Dress: Closed-toed shoes, comfortable, appropriate clothing

Washington, DC, Conceal Carry Requirements (All must be met)

  • Meets all the requirements for a person registering a firearm.
  • Completed a firearms training course by an instructor certified by the Chief ( You may apply for an exemption based on previous training within the past 2 years)
  • Is not presently an alcoholic, addict, or habitual user of a controlled dangerous substance, unless the habitual use of a controlled dangerous substance is under licensed medical direction.
  • Has not exhibited a propensity for violence or instability that may reasonably render a person’s possession of a concealed pistol a danger to the person or another.
  • Does not currently suffer nor has suffered in the previous five years from any mental disorder, illness, or condition that creates a substantial risk that he or she is a danger to himself or herself or others.

The requirements for item one above are:

  • Must be 21 years of age or older (18-21 with the authorization of a parent or guardian)
  • Not convicted of a weapons offense, or a felony in any jurisdiction (including a crime punishable by imprisonment for a term exceeding one year).
  • Not under indictment for a crime of violence or a weapons offense.
  • Not convicted within the past five years for narcotics or dangerous drug offenses, a threat to do bodily harm, or assault.
  • Not acquitted of any criminal charge by reason of insanity or adjudicated a chronic alcoholic by any court within the past five years.
  • Not voluntarily or involuntarily committed to any mental hospital or institution within the past five years.
  • Not suffering from any physical defect that would make it unsafe for you to possess and use a firearm safely and responsibly.
  • Not found negligent in any firearm-related mishap causing death or injury to another person.
  • Not convicted of a misdemeanor intrafamily offense.
  • Not dishonorably discharged from the U.S. Armed Forces.
  • Not a citizen of the United States who has renounced his or her citizenship.
  • Not legally blind.
  • Not convicted of two or more violations for driving under the influence within the past five years.
  • Not the subject of a civil protection order within the past five years.
  • Not convicted of Stalking within the past five years.
  • Not convicted of negligent storage of a firearm or a violation of the Firearms Registration Act within the past five years.
  • Not had a history of violent behavior within the past five years.
  • Has completed firearms training provided free of charge by the Metropolitan Police Department.

Details

Start:
July 30 @ 10:00 am
End:
July 31 @ 7:00 pm
Cost:
$400.00
Class Category:

Instructor

Matt

Tickets

The numbers below include tickets for this event already in your cart. Clicking "Get Tickets" will allow you to edit any existing attendee information as well as change ticket quantities.
Tickets are no longer available